iphone lined up on table If you want a used iPhone under $500, the useful question is not which model is best. It is which compromise you can live with.
This guide comes from published sale prices, seller policies and Apple’s support pages, not from time spent with each phone. I have not tested these ten, so where something is unconfirmed the article says so.
Prices move daily, so every number below is a dated snapshot rather than a promise, and I flag the places where two sources disagree.
TL;DR: The iPhone 14 and iPhone 13 are the safest buys for most people, with average Swappa sale prices from $245 to $364. Spend closer to $500 only if you want USB-C (iPhone 15) or Apple Intelligence (iPhone 16e, or an iPhone 15 Pro that only just fits). Skip the iPhone 12 unless price is the only thing that matters.
Used iPhones under $500: prices and trade-offs at a glance
Ten models land under $500 in Swappa‘s October 7, 2026 sales data, though a few only fit at the lowest storage tier.
These are average sale prices, not asking prices. Swappa describes them as what buyers actually paid, and its 3% buyer fee is built into listing prices, but sales tax is added at checkout.
| Model | Swappa average sale range (Oct 7, 2026) | iOS 27 | Apple Intelligence | Biggest trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone 16e | $370 to $540 | Yes | Yes | Single rear camera |
| iPhone 15 Pro | $490 to $578 | Yes | Yes | Only the lowest tier fits, barely |
| iPhone 15 Plus | $419 to $543 | Yes | No | Larger tiers cross $500 |
| iPhone 15 | $386 to $491 | Yes | No | No Apple Intelligence |
| iPhone 14 Pro Max | $447 to $552 | Yes | No | Only lower tiers fit |
| iPhone 14 Pro | $363 to $482 | Yes | No | Lightning port |
| iPhone 14 Plus | $311 to $362 | Yes | No | Lightning port |
| iPhone 14 | $284 to $364 | Yes | No | Lightning port |
| iPhone 13 Pro | $294 to $433 | Yes | No | Older A15 chip |
| iPhone 13 | $245 to $347 | Yes | No | Shortest support runway of the ten |
The Apple Intelligence column follows Apple‘s supported model list. All ten models appear on Apple’s iOS 27 compatibility list.
Swappa gives each range across storage tiers without labelling which end is which, so the low end is most likely the smallest storage. It names the storage only for the 128GB iPhone 15 ($386), iPhone 14 ($284) and iPhone 13 ($245) averages.
Swappa also warns that large storage tiers sell less often, so a few sales can skew their averages. As a rough cross-check, RefurbMe put refurbished iPhone 14 prices at $260 to $365 across sellers like Apple, Back Market and Amazon Renewed, but its page dates from May 2026.
Newer picks: iPhone 16e, 15 Pro, 15 Plus and 15
iPhone 16e
The iPhone 16e is the cheapest way into Apple Intelligence in this data, at $370 to $540 on Swappa.
Swappa notes a used 16e costs about the same as a 15, so the trade is a single rear camera for newer software features. Only the lower storage tiers fit under $500.
iPhone 15 Pro
The iPhone 15 Pro is the oldest iPhone that runs Apple Intelligence, and Swappa put its typical September price around $495.
That leaves almost no room, because sales tax can push it past $500. Treat it as a stretch pick.
iPhone 15 Plus
The iPhone 15 Plus adds a 6.7 inch screen and USB-C but no Apple Intelligence, at $419 to $543 on Swappa.
The lower storage tiers fit under $500 and the higher ones do not.
iPhone 15
The iPhone 15 brings USB-C, Dynamic Island and a 48MP main camera, and Swappa averages run $386 to $491.
Retail was a different story. The Best Buy iPhone 15 listing showed $539.99 when I opened it, and a cached search result showed $509.99 for a similar unit, so both sit over budget.

Best value: the iPhone 14 series
iPhone 14
Swappa calls the iPhone 14 the best overall used value right now, and it was Swappa’s best selling used iPhone of 2025.
Average sale prices run $284 to $364. The Best Buy iPhone 14 listing for a 128GB Excellent unit showed $419.99 with a 90 day warranty, while a cached result for the same page showed $349.99, which tells you how much retail prices swing.
iPhone 14 Plus
The iPhone 14 Plus keeps the 6.7 inch screen at $311 to $362, making it the cheapest large iPhone in this list.
iPhone 14 Pro
The iPhone 14 Pro averages $363 to $482 and adds the 48MP main camera, always on display and Dynamic Island that the standard 14 lacks.
The iPhone 14 Pro, like the rest of its series, has no Apple Intelligence and still uses Lightning.
iPhone 14 Pro Max
The iPhone 14 Pro Max is the largest and priciest of the group, with Swappa averages of $447 to $552.
Only the lower storage tiers fit, because the average sale price crosses $500 at the higher ones.

Older safe bets: iPhone 13 and 13 Pro
iPhone 13 Pro
The iPhone 13 Pro averages $294 to $433 and keeps the 120Hz ProMotion display that Swappa highlights.
It uses the A15 Bionic with a 5 core GPU, against a 4 core GPU in the standard 13, and the iPhone 14 also has a 5 core GPU.
iPhone 13
The iPhone 13 is the cheapest sensible entry at $245 to $347.
Swappa says it lacks satellite Emergency SOS and an always on display, still uses Lightning, and has roughly two to three years of iOS support left. The iPhone 13 Pro Max ($366 to $509) just missed the list because its higher tiers cross $500.

Models left out and why
The iPhone 12 averages $165 to $200, but Swappa’s buyer guide says it may be on its last major iOS version.
Swappa’s guide notes a 128GB iPhone 13 costs only about $65 more with far more runway, so the 12 makes sense only with a significant price gap.
The iPhone 11 ($138 to $207) and second generation iPhone SE ($84 to $117) are both on Apple’s iOS 27 list. Earlier leaks claimed Apple would cut them, and that did not hold when Apple published its list.
Where to buy: Swappa, Back Market, Best Buy and Apple
Swappa has the lowest prices in this data, while Apple, Back Market and Best Buy trade higher prices for clearer warranty terms.
Swappa is a peer to peer marketplace, so its protection runs through staff reviewed listings and PayPal’s dispute process rather than a standalone repair warranty.
| Seller | Warranty | Returns | Battery rule | Under $500? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Swappa | None from Swappa itself; some sellers offer a 1 year limited warranty | Refund if not as described; buyer’s remorse is up to the seller | No minimum; sellers disclose below 80% with Apple’s message | Yes, across most models above |
| Back Market | 1 year | 30 day money back | At least 80% guaranteed on standard smartphones | Live prices not verified |
| Best Buy | 90 days on the listing I opened, varies by product | Follows Best Buy policy, window not stated on the page | Excellent grade on the listing I opened: at least 80% | iPhone 14 yes, iPhone 15 no |
| Apple Certified Refurbished | 1 year | Free returns, window not stated on the page | New battery | No, cheapest listed was $659 |
Links go to the pages I opened: Back Market, the Best Buy iPhone 14 listing, Apple’s refurbished store, and Swappa’s buyer guide. Listings sell out and prices change, so expect to land on a different unit.
On Best Buy, check the “Sold by” line, because some pre-owned listings ship from third party sellers. I did not check Amazon Renewed, Walmart Restored, Gazelle or eBay, since Amazon’s help page blocked automated access, so read the grade label and guarantee on each listing.
Checks that matter more than the model
Battery health, Activation Lock and storage decide whether a cheap iPhone stays cheap.
Check the battery under Settings > Battery > Battery Health. Swappa sets no minimum, Back Market guarantees 80% on standard smartphones, and the Best Buy listing I opened requires 80% for its Excellent grade.
Rules and reality can differ. One Back Market reviewer reported 76% health, below that 80% guarantee, and Swappa suggests budgeting $50 to $120 for a future replacement.
Confirm Activation Lock is off before you pay, since Swappa requires listings to be free of it. Several buying guides, including SimplyMac, treat 128GB as the minimum worth buying in 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which used iPhone under $500 is best for most people?
The iPhone 14. Swappa calls it the best overall used value, with average sale prices of $284 to $364 on October 7, 2026.
Can I get Apple Intelligence on a used iPhone under $500?
The iPhone 16e and iPhone 15 Pro both support it, though the 15 Pro only fits the budget at its lowest storage tier. The iPhone 15, 14 and 13 do not.
Will these iPhones run iOS 27?
Yes. All ten models appear on Apple’s iOS 27 compatibility list, though Apple Intelligence still needs the iPhone 16e or 15 Pro.
Is the iPhone 12 still worth buying?
Only with a big price gap. Swappa says it may be on its last major iOS version, and a 128GB iPhone 13 costs about $65 more.
What battery health should I accept?
Seller rules differ. Swappa sets no minimum, Back Market guarantees 80% on standard smartphones, and the Best Buy listing I opened requires at least 80% for its Excellent grade.
Three decisions that narrow this list down
First, decide whether you want USB-C. Only the 15 series and the 16e have it, while the 14 series and older still use Lightning.
Second, decide whether Apple Intelligence matters, because in this price range only the 16e and the 15 Pro offer it, and the 15 Pro only just fits.
Third, decide how much seller protection is worth, since the lowest prices here come from a marketplace and the clearest warranties come from Apple, Back Market and Best Buy.
After the phone arrives, our iOS 27 settings guide covers what to change first. If you are replacing a phone of your own, the old iPhone guide covers selling or trading it in.
None of these ten is an obvious mistake at the right price. The real risks are a tired battery or a locked account, and both can be checked before you pay.
How these ten were selected
I started from Swappa’s October 7, 2026 sale data and looked at every model whose average sale price fell below $500 for at least its lowest storage tier. From those I shortlisted ten that balance price, features, performance and remaining software support.
Models that passed the price test but were left out include the iPhone 13 Pro Max, iPhone 13 mini, the iPhone 12 and iPhone 11 families, and both iPhone SE models. They are older, smaller or offer limited value over a newer alternative, and Swappa itself steers buyers away from the 12, so this is an editorial shortlist rather than an exhaustive price filter.
Models above $500 at every storage tier, such as the iPhone 16 and iPhone 15 Pro Max, were excluded on price.
Swappa’s averages come from completed sales, not asking prices, which is why they sit below some retail listings. I kept them separate from retailer prices and the May 2026 RefurbMe figures instead of blending the datasets.
Each model also had to appear on Apple’s iOS 27 compatibility list, and Apple Intelligence support was taken from Apple’s own supported model list.
Seller notes come from the Back Market, Best Buy, Apple and Swappa pages I opened, and I did not check Amazon Renewed, Walmart Restored, Gazelle or eBay.
The limits are plain. I did not test these phones, the prices are a month old, high storage averages can be skewed by a few sales, and retail prices change daily.






