Apple has published its first list of iPhone Duo apps built for the foldable, naming Netflix, Prime Video, Zoom, Slack and dozens more ahead of the October 23, 2026 on-sale date, according to its newsroom post. The same post confirms the iOS 27.1 SDK and Xcode 27.1 tools developers used to get there.
For anyone weighing the $1,999 price, the list matters more than the spec sheet. A foldable is only as good as the apps that use its second screen, and a few headline titles are still weeks away.
TL;DR: Apple says optimized iPhone Duo apps get a Made for iPhone Duo badge and App Store collections starting October 23, 2026, covering Netflix, Prime Video, Zoom, Slack and many more. Microsoft Word and Outlook arrive in the coming weeks, and some games and delivery apps land in November or later. Treat launch day as the start of the app story, not the finish.
Which iPhone Duo apps are optimized at launch
Apple leans on entertainment first. Netflix lets you scroll Clips on the outer display and keep watching on the inner one, while Prime Video, Paramount+ and Apple TV use the larger canvas, and MLB and PGA Tour put stats beside live games.
Prime Video shows the idea best: when the phone is partially folded, video plays on the top half and X-Ray details sit on the bottom. Propped on a counter, that is the difference between pausing a show to look up a cast member and just glancing down.
The table below pulls out the apps where Apple gave a specific change or a timing.
| App | What Apple says changes | Timing Apple gave |
|---|---|---|
| Netflix | Clips switch between outer and inner display | Not stated |
| Prime Video | Video on top half, X-Ray details on bottom half when partially folded | Not stated |
| Zoom | Shared content and participants shown at the same time | Not stated |
| Microsoft Word and Outlook | Formatting tools beside a document, inbox beside a message | Coming weeks |
| Zenless Zone Zero | Controls adapt to each pose | November 2026 |
| UnGodly | Controls and view adjust for each display | November 2026 |
| DoorDash | Delivery tracking on a larger map | Later in 2026 |
How two screens change the way apps behave
Apple says the outer and inner displays share the same aspect ratio, so apps scale proportionally when the phone opens or closes. The inner display is 50 percent larger than the one on the iPhone 18 Pro Max.
The phone can be used fully open, partially folded or closed, and Split View brings two apps side by side on an iPhone for the first time. On the foldable Apple unveiled in September, that is the feature most likely to change daily habits. It also depends on developers doing real work, which is where the SDK comes in.
Work apps are where the $1,999 gets tested
Microsoft Word and Outlook are promised as a desktop-class experience in the coming weeks, not on October 23. Zoom, Slack, Salesforce, Fantastical, Notewise, Things and Bear are on Apple’s optimized list.
Flexibits CEO Michael Simmons says Fantastical feels like the full Mac and iPad experience "right in your pocket." If you are buying the Duo to replace a tablet for email and documents, launch week will have gaps.
What developers got in the iOS 27.1 SDK
The iOS 27.1 SDK adds arrangement and reserved region APIs for layouts that split across the fold, plus a hinge API that responds to the display angle. SwiftUI and UIKit components also adapt automatically, keeping buttons away from the fold.
Scene accessories can show content on both displays at once, and new camera APIs support selfies with the rear cameras and the first under-display camera on an iPhone. Xcode 27.1 adds a Device Hub that simulates opening, closing, folding and rotating the phone. Apple says more than 2,000 developers attended over 50 in-person workshops in 19 cities.
Games and everyday apps arrive on their own schedules
Apple says Asphalt Legends keeps its 350 plus cars and races against up to seven online opponents. Zenless Zone Zero gets its iPhone Duo update in November, and UnGodly launches on the App Store that month.
Detail, a video editor, runs AI models on device through Apple’s new Core AI framework. DoorDash tracking on a larger map is coming later this year, and Apple says more updates will roll out through 2026.
What to check before you buy
Optimized apps carry a Made for iPhone Duo badge on their product pages, and Apple’s editorial collections go live on October 23. Pricing starts at $1,999, or $83.29 per month for 24 months, with sales in more than 70 countries and regions that day and 28 more on October 30.
Look for the badge on the three apps you open most before committing. That is a more honest test of a foldable than any spec sheet, and Duo buyers have already sat through a five week delay to get here.






