Skip to content

Apple’s iPhone Duo launch day will not be a walk-in affair in Japan or South Korea

iPhone Duo Walk-In Sales Blocked in Japan and Korea

Apple has told shoppers in Japan and South Korea that they cannot walk into an Apple Store and buy the iPhone Duo when it launches on October 23, 2026. The notices sit on Apple’s own country sites and also cover the iPhone 18 Pro Max.

If you planned to skip the pre-order queue and show up at opening, the iPhone Duo walk-in plan is already off the table in those two countries. It also hints at how thin early stock may be everywhere else.

TL;DR: Apple’s Japan and South Korea sites say the iPhone Duo and iPhone 18 Pro Max cannot be bought walk-in at Apple Stores for now. Japan points to a reservation, while the Korea notice only says in-person purchase is currently unavailable. In the US, MacRumors reports a two-per-customer cap at checkout, and Apple’s page lists no store limit yet. Plan for an online order or a reservation, not a queue.

What Apple’s Japan and Korea notices say about iPhone Duo walk-in sales

A notice on Apple Japan’s iPhone page says that for a limited period, the latest iPhone Duo and iPhone 18 Pro Max cannot be bought at a nearby Apple Store without a reservation.

The notice on Apple’s South Korea page is blunter. It says both models cannot currently be bought in person at Apple Store locations, and it does not mention a reservation route.

The wording gap matters. A reservation is a way in, while “cannot currently be bought” reads like a closed door, and neither page says how long the restriction lasts.

CountryWhat Apple’s page saysModelsEnd date
JapanNo Apple Store purchase without a reservationiPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro MaxNot stated (“limited period”)
South KoreaNo in-person purchase at Apple Stores for nowiPhone Duo, iPhone 18 Pro MaxNot stated

None of that tells you how many units exist, but the US storefront offers a clue.

Why the US is not in the clear either

Apple’s US iPhone Duo page says the phone is available starting October 23, 2026 on apple.com and at select carriers and partner stores, and that you can see it in person at all Apple Store locations. It states no purchase limit and no walk-in restriction.

Seeing a phone in person and walking out with one are different things. That gap is the detail most launch coverage will skip.

At checkout, though, MacRumors reported that Apple’s US website and Apple Store app show “A maximum of 2 iPhone Duo can be purchased per customer” once a third unit goes into the cart. MacRumors could not confirm whether the cap applied when pre-orders opened on October 16.

So the rule exists, but Apple only shows it at the last step. Anyone planning to buy for family members will find out late.

Why Apple would ration a phone it is still selling

Apple has not explained the restriction, so any reason here is inference. The simplest reading is crowd control, because the iPhone Duo starts at $1,999 and climbs to $3,199 for 2TB, according to Apple’s online store.

StorageUnlocked price
256GB$1,999
512GB$2,199
1TB$2,599
2TB$3,199

At those prices, a store full of people comparing a foldable they cannot yet buy is a bad launch morning for staff and shoppers alike. A reservation also puts a unit in front of a named customer instead of the first person through the door.

Apple unveiled the phone at its September event, and our coverage of the iPhone Duo launch noted the gap before it shipped. That gap is why the five-week pre-order delay now reads as an early hint of tight supply.

Restrictions like this tend to ease once stock catches up. Until Apple says otherwise, though, treat the notices as the real launch plan.

What to do before October 23

If you are in Japan or South Korea, check Apple’s country page for the iPhone Duo before you travel to a store. Japan’s notice implies a reservation process, but the page does not explain how to make one.

In the US, ordering online with delivery or Apple Store pickup is the path Apple’s own pages clearly describe, and the two-unit cap is worth knowing before you build a cart. Walking into a store on launch day may still work for looking, which is a different goal from buying.

Apple can change any of this with a single banner update, so reread the product page the night before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *